Ancient Teachings of Tantra and Kundalini Yoga

Manipura Chakra

Manipura chakra, the gem center is at the level of the solar plexus. Manipura chakra is the seat of the fire within the body. Located at the navel, this is the chakra of the life force. A downward-pointing red triangle is located in a circle surrounded by ten petals.
Manipura is related to the principle of sight. According to the Shiva Samhita, the adept who contemplates Manipura chakra not only conquers disease and death but also acquires the ability to enter another body.
The seed mantra is Ram. The chakra's vital breath is Samana. Samana vayu is one of the currents of prana, the life force, which pervades all limbs and is responsible for nourishing the body by distributing food as rasa.
The presiding deity of this chakra, Braddha Rudra, represents the power of destruction. All that exists returns to him. He has camphor-blue skin smeared wit ashes and a silver beard, and sits in his wrathful form on a golden tiger skin symbolic of the tiger of the mind that dwells in the forest of desires.
The tiger represents manas, the mind. When Rudra manifests his supreme power, he is Ishvara and is the creator, maintainer and destroyer of the universe. Rudra is he who causes the disappearance of sorrow or who bestows knowledge.
The energy generated by him is Lakini Shakti, four-armed, three-faced. In one of her four hands she holds the thunderbolt, or vajra. In her second hand, she holds the arrow that is shot from the bow of Kama, the Lord of Sex, in the second chakra.
Her third hand holds fire. With the fourth hand Lakini Shakti forms the mudra (hand gesture) of granting boons and dispelling fear.
The chakra's associated animal is the ram, vehicle of the fire-god Agni.
Manipura Braddha Rudra
Number of petals: 10
Location: Solar Plexus
Name: The city of Gems
Plane: Celestial plane
Sense Organ: Eyes
Work Organ: Feet and legs
Sense: Sight
Element: Fire
Shape: Triangle
Sound: Rang
The Chakra drawing on this page is from the book: Chakras: Energy Centers of Transformation by Harish Johari, Destiny Books, a division of Inner Traditions International, Rochester, VT 05767 Copyright © 2000 by Pratibha Johari.