Ancient Teachings of Tantra and Kundalini Yoga


Ajna chakra is the location of the third eye which is the conscience.
The two physical eyes see the past and the present, while the third eye reveals the insight of the future.
The seed syllable is Aum, or "Pranava Om", the supreme sound.
When one establishes himself in the place between the eyebrows he goes beyond all the kinds of desires that motivate life
and impel one to move in many directions. All experience and ideas serve only to clarify one's perceptions in Ajna Chakra.
The plane of neutrality (Sarasvati) appears as a balance between solar and lunar energy within the body.
Ida (river Ganga, feminine, lunar) and Pingala (river Jamuna, masculine, solar) nerve energies separate from the Sushumna channel at the
Muladhara chakra, intertwine up through all chakras and meet with the Sarasvati, becoming one at Ajna Chakra. This brings the sense of oneness
and of unity with the cosmic laws that appear in the plane of austerity. They then again separate, running into the left and right nostrils. Negative
and positive, the components of duality, become equalized in Sarasvati, leaving a state of pure music and neutrality. One now becomes one-pointed;
he becomes knower of past, present and future.
Ida and Pingala are time-bound; up to the fifth chakra the yogi also is time bound, but as Ida and Pingala end here, the yogi moves into Sushumna, beyond time.
He is now in a state of nondual consciousness. The activation of Ajna chakra is said to lead to psychic powers (siddhis) such as clairvoyance.
The presiding deity is Ardhanarishvara, the half-male, half-female Shiva-Shakti, symbolic of basic polarity; the right side is male and the left side, female. Ardhanarishvara
stands in a lingam known as Itara Lingam. The lingam is shining white, like the color of light. The male half of Ardhanarishvara has camphor-blue skin. He holds a trident in his
right hand, representing the three aspects of consciousness: cognition, conation, and affection.
The female side of Ardhanarishvara is pink. She wears a red
sari, and about her neck and arms are wound shining golden
ornaments. She holds a pink lotus, a symbol of purity. All
duality has ceased. Shiva has total command over all aspects
of the self in this plane of liberation, or moksha.
The third eye of Shiva is called sva-netra, the organ of clairvoyance.
Becoming Sada-Shiva, the eternal one, Shiva is no longer separate
from Shakti as a separate male entity. Devata Shiva is the granter
of knowledge. This knowledge brings the breath (prana) and the mind
under control of Ardhanarishvara.
The energy is Hakini. Hakini Shakti has four arms and six heads. Her skin
is pale pink, and her jewelry is golden and shines with gems. Wearing a red
sari, she sits on a pink lotus with her left foot raised. She imparts the
knowledge of unconditional truth, the awareness of nonduality. In her hands
she holds the following objects: Shiva's damaru drum, which maintains a
steady drone and leads the aspirant in his way, a skull, as symbol of
detachment, a mala for japa as a centering device. her remaining right
hand is posed in the mudra of granting fearlessness.
Ardhanarishvara Shiva Shakti
Location: Between the eyebrows
Hakini Shakti
Name: Command, authority
Plane: Plane of austerity
Sound: AUM
The Chakra drawing on this page is from the book: Chakras: Energy Centers of Transformation by Harish Johari,
Destiny Books, a division of Inner Traditions International, Rochester, VT 05767 Copyright © 2000 by Pratibha Johari.